WIHA > About Us

Mission Statement

This constitution is established to facilitate interscholastic competition, promote a sound program of educational enrichment value and encourage a cooperative, democratic process of fair and good horsemanship.


This organization is to promote continuous growth in programs fostering horsemanship education, sponsor activities to encourage interscholastic participation and to have cooperative adult supervised leadership (coaching) for all students in grades 6 through 12 who are desirous to participate regardless of race, creed or national origin and meets the association rules and regulations.

Wisconsin Interscholastic Horsemanship Association By-Laws

What is WIHA? How is it different from other Youth Equestrian Organizations?

WIHA is an equestrian competition where individuals compete as a team. Your team belongs to a district which corresponds to the county where your school is located. The goal of WIHA is to get as many schools as possible to recognize this as a sport and allow the students to letter.


The Wisconsin Interscholastic Horsemanship Association (WIHA) was founded in May of 2007 by Dan Grunewald. The first WIHA show was held in Jefferson, WI in 2007 and had seven teams in competition. Excitement for the WIHA was felt through everyone that competed and all of the spectators. Since this inaugural show, many youth and adults are getting involved wanting to know how they can get the WlHA started in their school.

In 2016, WIHA had 96 teams and over 360 members.

  • 2008 – 10 teams
  • 2009 – no info collected
  • 2010 – 54 teams and 255 students
  • 2011 – 43 teams and 301 students
  • 2012 – 63 teams and 357 students
  • 2013 – 70 teams and 391 students
  • 2014 – 67 teams and 377 students
  • 2015 – 66 teams and 334 students

How Does It Work?

There are several districts throughout the state of Wisconsin. Each team competes at their corresponding district shows. A district is required to hold 3 shows throughout the season in order for their teams to advance to the state competition. Districts are allowed to have all 3 shows in one weekend (one day is double-judged, the other single judged). The top teams from each division at each district show have the opportunity to move onto the state championship competition.

There are 4 divisions in WIHA that are dependent on the size of your team.

  • Division A = 11-14 riders
  • Division B = 6-10 riders
  • Division C = 3-5 riders
  • Division D = 1-2 riders

The classes are placed 1st-10th with point numbers assigned to each placing (1st =10pts, 2nd = 9 pts etc.)

WIHA Class List (Grade 6-12)

  1.  Western Showmanship
  2.  Saddle Seat Showmanship
  3.  Hunt Seat Showmanship
  4.  Bareback Equitation/Horsemanship
  5.  Walk/Trot Horsemanship/Equitation
  6.  Saddle Seat Equitation
  7.  Hunt Seat Equitation
  8.  Hunter Hack Equitation
  9.  Western Showmanship
  10.  Western Reining (even years) or Discipline Rail (odd years)
  11.  Ranch Riding
  12.  Trail
  13.  Reinsmanship
  14.  Pole Bending
  15.  Barrels
  16.  Timed Class
  17.  Timed Class
  18.  Two Person Relay
2019 WIHA State Champions
Div A
  • Grand Champion Chippewa Falls
  • Reserve Champion Plymouth
  • 3rd Place Menomonie
Div B
  • Grand Champion Neenah
  • Reserve Champion Rio
  • 3rd Place Peshtigo
Div C
  • Grand Champion Wisconsin Dells
  • Reserve Champion Waunakee HS
  • Reserve Champion Ripon
  • 3rd Place Lake Mills
Div D
  • Grand Champion Neillsville
  • Reserve Champion Cornell
  • 3rd Place Sevastapool
2019 Aimee Thompson Scholarship Winners
  • Brooke Kiefer
  • Kelsey Last
  • Lauren Prellwitz
  • Sheila Tracey
  • Amanda Stone
2018 Spirit Award Winners
  • Division A Ithica
  • Division B East Troy
  • Division C WI Dells
  • Division D Neillsville